Car insurance is one of those things you need to have even though you hope you will never have to use it. It is actually required by law in Tennessee that all drivers carry insurance while driving. Brush up on Tennessee car insurance laws so that you do not end up on the wrong side of the law.
Your car insurance in Tennessee must carry a certain amount of liability insurance. Your liability needs to include at least $15,000 for any property damage, $25,000 in the event of an injury and $50,000 in the event of a fatality. Those are the minimums, but you can get more.
The liabilities mentioned above are the ones you absolutely must have, but there are other insurances you can acquire that are not necessarily mandated to own by law. For example, you can get a comprehensive policy that covers your car in case it gets damaged by vandalism or the weather. You can also get insured in case you end up in an accident with a motorist who lacks insurance.
Ultimately, it is better to be safe than sorry when it comes to Tennessee car insurance. Always have your policy in your vehicle, and be ready to present it to a police officer if asked.